Scholars

Community of Ethics Scholars

KU Faculty

Christopher W. Anderson

School of Business

E-mail: cwanderson@ku.edu
Research: Corporate Finance, Contracting & Governance, International Finance, especially Japanese and Latin American capital markets
Homepage

Ronald A. Ash

School of Business

E-mail: rash@ku.edu
Research: General survey in human resources management, recruiting and selecting employees, appraising and managing employee performance, building skills for managing people effectively
Homepage

Bob Augelli

School of Business

E-mail: oreadconsultants@sunflower.com
Research: Organizational Behavior, Industrial mental health, Negotiation- Conflict resolution, Employee Assistance Programs, Psychotherapy
Homepage

Melissa Birch

School of Business

E-mail: mhbirch@ku.edu
Research: Strategic Management, International Business, Corporate Governance, Business in Latin America
Homepage

Joyce Claterbos

School of Business

E-mail: jclaterbos@ku.edu
Homepage

John Garland

Professor Emeritus

School of Business
Email: jgarland@ku.edu

Mark G. Haug

School of Business

E-mail: mhaug@ku.edu
Interests: Business Statistics, Business Law, Professional Development and Leadership, Operations Management
Homepage

Steve Hilmer

School of Business

E-mail: hilmer@ku.edu
Research: Use of statistical methods in solving of organizational problems, quality management and customer focused operations, management based upon a system view of the organization, methods to understand customer's needs.
Homepage

Douglas A. Houston

School of Business

E-mail: dhouston@ku.edu
Research: Energy markets, environmental policies, political economy, behavioral economics.
Homepage

Dennis Karney

School of Business

E-mail: dkarney@ku.edu
Research: Total quality, customer focused operations, organizational change, total quality commitment-theory and implementation.
Homepage

Jay Lee

School of Business

E-mail: jaylee@ku.edu
Research: Employee cooperation that reflects their tendencies to fully utilize firm-specific skills and knowledge as well as HRM practices to promote those tendencies, employee voluntary behaviors that go beyond in-role performance criteria, research methodology and design issues including statistical analysis.
Homepage

Murray S. Levin

School of Business

E-mail: MLevin@ku.edu
Research: Alternative dispute resolution, legal environment of business, contract law, real property law.

Renate R. Mai-Dalton

School of Business

E-mail: rmaidalton@ku.edu
Research: Organizational Behavior

Catherine Schwoerer

School of Business

E-mail: cschwoerer@ku.edu
Interests: Self-efficacy, well-being and work, career management, globalization
Homepage

Catherine Shenoy

School of Business

E-mail: cshenoy@ku.edu
Interests: Portfolio Analysis, Investments, Financial Management, Statistics
Homepage

Surendra N. Singh

School of Business

E-mail: ssingh@ku.edu
Research: Mere exposure effects in advertising, valid methods for securing user input in the Web page/site design process, Social Marketing
Homepage

Daniel G. Spencer

School of Business

E-mail: dspencer@ku.edu
Research: Tacit/Propositional Knowledge Dialectics in Management Practice, Individual/Group Critical Thinking and Creative Problem Solving, Organizational Learning, Continuous Improvement, and Innovation.
Homepage

Rajenda P. Srivastava

School of Business

E-mail: rsrivastava@ku.edu
Research: Belief Functions applications to Auditing and Information Systems, Information Quality, Continuous and On-line Auditing, Theoretical Study of Internal Control Systems (Design and Analysis), Statistical Sampling, Expert Systems in Auditing, Decision Making under Uncertainty and XBRL.
Homepage

Douglas Whitman

School of Business

E-mail: Dwithman@ku.edu
Research: Introduction to law, Negotiation, Dispute Resolution
Homepage


KU Doctoral Students

Eli Beracha

School of Business

Graduate Teaching Assistant
Economics
E-mail: eberacha@ku.edu

Esma Nur Cinicioglu

School of Business

Graduate Teaching Assistant
E-mail: esmanur@ku.edu

Xin Liang

School of Business

Graduate Teaching Assistant
E-mail: xinliang@ku.edu

Jake Messersmith

School of Business

Graduate Teaching Assistant
E-mail: jmesser@ku.edu

Martina Musteen

School of Business

Graduate Research Assistant
E-mail: mmusteen@ku.edu

Anurag Pant

School of Business

Graduate Teaching Assistant
E-mail: Homepage


African Studies

Nobleza Asuncion-Lande

Department of Communication

Email: mcmnal@ku.edu
Research Interests: Intercultural communication, organizational communication, cross cultural negotiations and conflict management.
Homepage

Raj Bhala

Raymond F. Rice Professor of Law

Email: bhala@ku.edu
Research Interests: International trade (particularly GATT, developing countries, and agriculture), social justice theory, Islamic law
Homepage

Deborah J. Gerner

Political Science

Email: gerner@ku.edu
Research Interests: Foreign policy decision making, US policy toward the Middle East, North Africa, & Third World; Arab Israeli conflict; conflict resolution, crisis early warning; human rights, ethnicity, democratization.
Homepage

Mickey Imber

Educational Administration

Email: mick@ku.edu
Research Interests: Educational policy, ethics and law; educational administration; comparative education.
Homepage

Thomas Lewin

Department of History

Email: tomlewin@ku.edu
Research Interests: American-based multinational corporations.
Homepage

Anton Rosenthal

Department of History

Email: surreal@ku.edu
Research Interests: Urban history, labor history and popular culture in Latin America & Africa.
Homepage

Philip A. Schrodt

Political Science

Email: schrodt@ku.edu
Research Interests: Quantitative International Relations, International Conflict in the Middle East and Africa, Foreign Policy Decision-Making, United States Defense Policy
Homepage


East Asian Studies

Edward R. Canda

Social Welfare

E-Mail: edc@ku.edu
Research Interests: The role of spirituality and philosophy in social work and social welfare. East Asian and international perspectives on social welfare.
Homepage

John W. Head

Law School

Email: jhead@ku.edu
Research Interests: International Economic Law, including International Trade Regulation (GATT, WTO, etc.) and International Financial Institutions (IMF, World Bank, etc.); and Comparative Law, with a Special Emphasis on Dynastic Chinese Law.

Shim Woochan

Department of Social Welfare

Email: shimw@ku.edu
Research Interests: Domestic violence and intersections with child welfare; diversity issues and culturally competent social work practice.

William M. Tsutsui

Department of History

Email: btsutsui@ku.edu
Research Interests: China and Japan, Modern Japan, Postwar Japan, Japanese Economic and Business History, Defining Japan: Marginalized Groups & Construction of National Identity, Research Seminar in East Asian History.


European Studies

Ron Francisco

Political Science

E-mail: ronfran@ku.edu
Phone: (785) 864-9023
Research Interests: Germany, Eastern European Politics
Homepage

Juliet Kaarbo

Political Science

E-mail: kaarbo@ku.edu
Research Interests: Comparative Foreign Policies, International Negotiations, Theories of International Relations, Politics Of Western Europe and Parliamentary Systems
Homepage

Michael Mosser

Political Science

E-mail: mwmosser@ku.edu
Research Interests: International Relations Theory, International Organizations, Cooperation and Conflict in International Relations
Homepage


Other Departments

Anne Soon Choi

American Studies

Email: aschoi@ku.edu
Research Interests: explorations of American empire, U.S. Immigration, the global circulation of political ideology, transnational cultural and political formations, and Asian American history.

David M. Katzman

American Studies

Email: dkatzman@ku.edu
Research Interests: His research and teaching focus on American culture and race, ethnicity, identity, work, migration, and community

Norman R. Yetman

American Studies

Email: nyetman@ku.edu
Research Interests: Professor Yetman's major teaching and research interests focus primarily upon issues involving race, ethnicity, immigration, religion, and sport in American life.

Bartholomew C. Dean

Anthropology

Email: bdean@ku.edu
Research Interests: Social anthropology, critical theory, kinship, politics, exchange, symbolic forms, social change and development, human rights; Amazonia, Latin America.
Homepage

F. Allan Hanson

Anthropology

Email: hanson@ku.edu
Research Interests: Social anthropology, semiotics, world view, social theory; Polynesia, contemporary U.S., technology and society.
Homepage

Brent E. Metz

Anthropology

Email: bmetz@ku.edu
Research Interests: Sociocultural Anthropology, indigeneity, political economy, quality of life, globalization, anthropological ethics, ethnographic representation Central America.
Homepage

Tom. D. Beissecker

Communication Studies

Email: south40@ku.edu
Research Interests: Dr. Beisecker's main interests include persuasion, social influence, bargaining, negotiation, and jury decision-making.

Cal W. Downs

Communication Studies

Email: downs@ku.edu
Research Interests: His teaching and research focuses on organizational communication. Current interests include organizational communication assessments, feedback systems, product liability and warning, job commitment, communication audits, and selection interview processes.

Joann Keyton

Communication Studies

Email: jkeyton@ku.edu
Research Interests: Dr. Keyton's research on organizational culture, sexual harassment, and group relationships has appeared in Management Communication Quarterly, Journal of Applied Communication Research, Southern Communication Journal, Journal of Business Ethics, Small Group Research, Communication Yearbook, and The Handbook of Group Communication Theory and Research.

Dorthy Pennington

Communication Studies

Email: dpen@ku.edu
Research Interests: Dr. Pennington's main teaching and research interests include intercultural communication, human relations, and public address. One of her special interests is labor rhetoric.

Pat Girten

Humanities & Western Civilization

Email: pgirten@ku.edu
Research Interests: Dr. Girten's research and teaching interests include the history of political thought, the development of political ideology, democratic theory, social movement history and political culture and socialization.

Ann Cudd

Philosophy Department

Email: acudd@ku.edu
Research Interests: Decision theory, philosophy of social science, social and political philosophy.

Ben Eggleston

Philosophy Department

Email: eggleston@ku.edu
Research Interests: History of Ethics, history of political philosophy, applied ethics, philosophy of Law.

Donald Marquis

Philosophy Department

Email: dmarquis@ku.edu
Research Interests: Ethics, Medical ethics

Rex Martin

Philosophy Department

Email: rexm@ku.edu
Research Interests: Dr. Martin's fields of major interest are political and legal philosophy (in particular rights, and economic justice), history of political thought, and philosophy of history.

Yancy Hughes Dominick

Philosophy Department

Email: yancy9@ku.edu
Research Interests: Ancient philosophy, history of philosophy, ethics, philosophy of language, 19th century continental philosophy

Glenn Adams

Psychology Department

Email: adamsg@ku.edu
Research Interests: Social Psychology

C. Daniel Batson

Psychology Department

Email: adamsg@ku.edu
Research Interests: Social Psychology

Nyla R. Branscombe

Psychology Department

Email: adamsg@ku.edu
Research Interests: Social Psychology

Christian Crandall

Psychology Department

Email: adamsg@ku.edu
Research Interests: Social Psychology

Patricia H. Hawley

Psychology Department

Email: adamsg@ku.edu
Research Interests: Social Psychology

Lawrence S. Wrightsman

Psychology Department

Email: adamsg@ku.edu
Research Interests: Social Psychology

Sandra L. Albrecht

Department of Sociology

Email: albrecht@ku.edu
Research Interests: Professor Albrecht (Ph.D. Texas-Austin) specializes in the areas of sociology of work and gender. Other research interests include the American Labor Movement, conflict resolution, and the sociology of gender.

Robert J. Antonio

Department of Sociology

Email: anto@ku.edu
Research Interests: Professor Antonio (Ph.D. Notre Dame) specializes in social theory, macroscopic sociology, and economy and society.
Homepage

David J. Ekerdt

Department of Sociology

Email: dekerdt@ku.edu
Research Interests: The theme of his research is people's agency in facing and managing the normative, socially structured transitions of the life course. His publications have addressed issues of social structure and aging, decision-making processes for later life, age and consumption, and techniques for the analysis of time-series data.
Homepage

Eric A. Hanley

Department of Sociology

Email: hanley@ku.edu
Research Interests: Professor Hanley (Ph.D. California, Los Angeles) specializes in economic and political sociology. His recent research projects include the role of international agencies in economic transformations in Eastern Europe, the rise of entrepreneurship in the former Soviet bloc, and household survival strategies in contemporary Russia.
Homepage

Shirley Harkess

Department of Sociology

Email: hark@ku.edu
Research Interests: Professor Harkess (Ph.D. Cornell) specializes in the sociology of gender, family, work, and Latin American Studies. Recent research focuses on women's employment in high-tech occupations. She currently teaches family sociology.
Homepage


Issues in Scientific Integrity Faculty List

Howard J. Rytting

School of Pharmacy

Email: rytting@ku.edu
Research Interests: Thermodynamics, drug delivery, calorimetry, solid state characterization, stability, transdermal, rectal and intraoral drug absorption.

Ronald T. Borchardt

School of Pharmacy

Email: rborchardt@ku.edu
Research Interests: Peptide transport, prodrugs of peptides, blood-brain barrier, intestinal mucosal barrier, cell culture systems, protein and peptide stability.

Elizabeth M. Topp

School of Pharmacy

Email: top@ku.edu
Research Interests: Mass transport, controlled release, polymers, drug delivery, solid-state, peptide and protein stability.

Jane Aldrich

School of Pharmacy

Email: jaldrich@ku.edu
Research Interests: The design and synthesis of peptide and peptidomimetic analogues, primarily of opioid peptides, and examination of structure-activity relationships by both conventional and combinatorial chemistry approaches. Exploration of synthetic methodologies for the preparation of novel peptide and peptidomimetic analogues.

Sue M. Lunte

School of Pharmacy

Email: slunte@ku.edu
Research Interests: Bioanalytical chemistry, liquid chromatography, capillary electrophoresis, electrochemical and laser-induced fluorescence detection, microdialysis sampling, pharmaceutical analysis, neurochemistry, protein and peptide analysis.

Teruna J. Siahaan

School of Pharmacy

Email: siahaan@ku.edu
Research Interests: Cell Adhesion; Intercellular Junctions; Structure, Stability and Delivery of Peptides and Peptidomimetics.

Valentino J. Stella

School of Pharmacy

Email: stella@ku.edu
Research Interests: Drug delivery, prodrugs, lymphatic drug delivery, stability, mass transport, cyclodextrins.

Les Mischer

School of Pharmacy

Email: lmitscher@ku.edu
Research Interests: Medicinal Chemistry

Kenneth L. Audus

School of Pharmacy

Email: audus@ku.edu
Research Interests: Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Pharmacology and Toxicology.

George S. Wilson

School of Pharmacy

Email: gwilson@ku.edu
Research Interests: Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Russell Middaugh

School of Pharmacy

Email: middaugh@ku.edu
Research Interests: Proteins, gene therapy, biophysical chemistry, formulation, delivery, vaccines.

Valentino J. Stella

School of Pharmacy

Email: stella@ku.edu
Research Interests: Drug delivery, prodrugs, lymphatic drug delivery, stability, mass transport, cyclodextrins.

William (Bill) Sharp

KU Research Center

Compliance Manager/ Contracts Officer, Contract Negotiations & Research Compliance
Email: bsharp@ku.edu


Research Ethics Faculty

Charles Bankart

Grad School/ International Programs

Email: cbankart@ku.edu

Mabel Rice

Department of Applied Behavioral Science

Email: mabel@ku.edu
Research Interests: Mabel L. Rice is an international authority on language disorders in children and the genetics of language acquisition.

Susan Kemper

Psychology Department

Email: skemper@ku.edu
Research Interests: Psychology of aging, Developmental Psychology

Joane Nagel

Sociology Department

Email: nagel@ku.edu
Research Interests: Professor Nagel (Ph.D. Stanford) is a political and cultural sociologist; her work is on ethnicity and ethnic identity, gender and sexualities, cultural production and construction, social and nationalist movements, and American Indian activism.
Homepage

John Colombo

Psychology Department

Email: colombo@ku.edu
Research Interests: Dr. Colombo's major research interests are in the developmental cognitive neuroscience of attention and learning in infancy and early childhood, with a special focus on early individual differences in these areas and how they relate to childhood intellectual function and developmental status.
Homepage

Roger Allen Rajewski

Higuchi Biosciences Center

Pharmaceutical Chemistry Department
Email: rajewski@ku.edu

Craig E. Lunte Chemistry Department
Email: clunte@ku.edu
Research Interests: Analytical chemistry: monitoring living systems, micro-separation techniques, electrochemistry, electrochemical detection in liquid chromatography and capillary electrophoresis, drug transport, pharmacokinetics, anticancer drugs, oxidative stress.
Homepage

Lester A. Mitscher

Medicinal Chemistry Department

Email: lmitscher@ku.edu
Research Interests: Natural products, antibiotics, antivirals, antimutagenics/chemopreventive agents, antitumor agents.

William C. Sharp

Vice Provost Research Department

Email: wsharp@ku.edu

Michael Lemon

Environment, Health, Safety Department

Radiation/Laser Safety Officer
Email: mlemon@ku.edu
Homepage

Thomas N. Taylor

Division of Biological Sciences Department

Email: tntaylor@ku.edu

Laurence R. Draper

Division of Biological Sciences

Email: lrdraper@ku.edu

Glen W. White, Ph.D.

Applied Behavioral Science Department

Email: glen@ku.edu
Research Interests: Our research team is interested in conducting applied behavioral community research on socially significant issues that people with disabilities face in their daily lives.
Homepage

Alice L. Bean

Physics and Astronomy Department

Email: abean@ku.edu
Research Interests: I'm involved with the following collaborations: D0, CMS, and RICE. I'm a leader of the D0 Layer 0 silicon effort and we are busy calibrating the existing D0 Silicon Microvertex Tracker. I also am in a group to look for the electroweak production of single top quarks.
Homepage

David Downing

Aerospace Engineering Department

Email: drdrd@ku.edu
Research Interests: Dr. Downing teaches and conducts research in advanced flight control, display, and instrumentation systems.

Kenneth A. Bishop

Chemical & Petroleum Engineering Department

Email: kbishop@ku.edu
Research Interests: Professor Bishop is a member of the National Computational Science Alliance, a member of the Chemical Engineering Applications Technology team, and the EPSCoR research community representative to the Partners for Advance Computational Services.